Fall/Winter Favorites!

Long time no post – practically a whole 2 months. Wow, so sorry about that. Life happened — and it hasn’t been all that great recently, but there still have been some brighter moments, some in part due to these things that I’ve fallen in love with over this fall, and now going into winter, season. Enjoy! -K.

 

 

BEAUTY

2-dramatic-holiday-makeup-looks-800x445

  • Fresh faced. I’ve been guilty of wearing way too much makeup lately, so it’s been nice to give my skin a break once in a while. Though I do need to get back into a semi-regular skincare routine still – oops.
  • Skincare products. I’ve been browsing Sephora and Ulta recently, and have found some pretty cool skincare products I didn’t even consider before. Clinique has a lot of really good ones (besides the hydroblur moisturizer I’ve used off and on this last year and a half), so I definitely might shop around there. I’ve also been looking into masks, like Bliss and Dermologica have some fun ones I just may try out sometime.
  • Glitter and shimmer. I just saw this a few days ago, but Marc Jacobs has come out with shimmer pots (“See-quins Glitter Eyeshadow) and it looks so luxurious. I love adding some extra sparkle to my makeup, especially around the holidays. Gold glitter for Christmas or silver shimmer for New Years? Yes, please.
  • Red lips, classic. I’ve been getting back into glosses recently, so I may try out a glossy red lip or like a stain version – though I do love my Kylie lip kit for a traditional matte red! So gorgeous!
  • Darker colors: plums, burgundies, greens, and blues will definitely be in my color palette for winter this year. Although I also love the idea of going the opposite direction too – I don’t care what people say about pastels washing out winter skin – I think they are super pretty with paler skin (because let’s face, unless you go to the Bahamas every winter, your skin isn’t its tannest right now!)
  • Wish-list beauty (aka: what I would buy if I had an unlimited amount of $$): Natasha Denona Sunset Palette, Huda Beauty Desert Dusk Palette, Becca Cosmetics Backlight Priming Filter, MAC Lipsticks and Skinfinishes, Urban Decay Cranberry Palette, Kylie Cosmetics Holiday Collection, Bare Minerals Vio-Lit Primer Base,  Anastasia Beverly Hills Soft Glam and Norvina Eyeshadow Palettes.

 

 

 

ENTERTAINMENT

b7b8b569b142146fb07b5be622579680.jpg

  • Pretty Little Liars. I’ve been rewatching this show again, and I pushed myself through the first couple episodes, and I’m so glad I did, because it’s got me hooked all over again! It’s really funny to watch it now, knowing who both “A” and “A.D” are. Though I still can’t decide if I wanna read the books or not (even though they sound more devious than the show, at least the show’s 6-7 seasons). My favorite character all-around is probably Aria, because I think we’re alike in a lot of ways with the arts, writing, creativity, and passion, and the drama. I really love Hanna’s character too – and I relate to her “secret” more, and I love her quick, witty, one liners!
  • Hallmark (and ABC and Lifetime!) Christmas movies: I mean, I’ve always liked them, but this season, I’ve been really into ’em. Maybe it’s because I’ve done some fashion articles on styles from various movies, or maybe it’s because they managed to reunite some of the OTH cast – whatever the reason, I just can’t get enough of them! Even though, yes, they’re kinda cheesy and predictable, I don’t mind because it’s the holidays after all.
  • Old shows that I used to watch or be curious about – like The Lying Game (stupid decision on ABC’s part to cancel it!), or The Secret Life of the American Teenager (I cannot believe Shailene Woodley was in that!) or even old Scooby Doo movies and cartoons (the Witch’s Ghost and Zombie Island are still two of my faves!) Nostalgia.

 

 

 

 

 

SOCIAL 

download

  • Life positive influencers. I love how in the midst of all the seemingly perfect Instagram poses and overfiltered pics that there are some influencers that give us a dose of real-life woes and honest pictures. I’m sure I’ve mentioned them before, but Jessica Tyler and Katy Bellotte are two of my faves right now! I also love Kate Was’ body positive modeling account!
  • Bitmojis, GIFs, and memes. #OhSoRelatable — and oh so fun to post. I even like to change up my Bitmoji’s outfit for the seasons – right now, it’s in fall, so I’ll change it before Christmas, for sure!
  • Profile themes: I’ve recently changed up my Facebook profile to a more faded, kind of pastel look. And my Tumblr is all summer, all the time. The only thing I don’t do is an Instagram theme (sorry, not sorry) – I just can’t keep up with it. I do, however, still like the white border/background around my photos (circa 2013, but whatever).

 

 

 

 

RANDOM, ETC. 

pen-and-paper1

  • Writing – been working on a story for a while now, I think I have about an eighth done, maybe almost a little more than that. I don’t know, but the point is, I’ve been doing more writing for fun and for myself, and that’s been really enjoyable.
  • YouTube tutorials: I’ve been going back and watching a lot of makeup tutorials recently on YouTube – I remember my first one was like back in 2006/07 or something like that haha, but now I’ve been loving them again for inspiration! Jackie Wyers is one of my favorites – her transformation looks are stellar and she always rocks whatever makeup she has on, even if it would look crazy on others! I also like Megan Parken’s hauls and the Vogue 10-min model beauty series!
  • Family first. Spending time with family (and friends!) is extra special this holiday season, and it’s been something I’ve loved to do more of. I am so thankful for them! 🧡
  • Knowing the difference between physically feeling better and mentally feeling better. I have a new appreciation for my body basics after having this damn cold for almost a couple weeks now. Wow, how I miss breathing regularly and talking normally. Also, chicken noodle soup solves all the problems. That’s all. 😊

Alright guys, that’s it! Thanks for reading, and have a happy holiday season!

 

 

 

*as always: all images courtesy google, pinterest, youtube. i do not take any credit*

Leave a comment