Beauty Review: All About Eyeshadow Palettes!

Hi everyone! Long time, no (fun) blog post! I’m back with a beauty one, and I decided it might be fun to take a look at the eyeshadow palettes I currently own and do a little review on them.


 

TOO FACED CHOCOLATE GOLD PALETTE

41039_1.png

What it is: an eyeshadow palette featuring metallics and matte neutrals, all made with real gold and the signature chocolate scent.

Pros: lovely metallic color range and super smooth mattes. Plus – a smooth, creamy, dark matte black (perfect for smoking out eyeliner).

Cons: can’t use traditional brush for metallics, you need a precise, flat stiff brush to get that packed-on, full shimmer look. But, once you get that brush, they’re a breeze to work with!

Standout shades: Drippin’ Diamonds, Decadent, Old Money, Classy N’ Sassy & Chocolate Gold.

 

 

URBAN DECAY VICE 3

2656494

What it is: another installment of Urban Decay’s popular “Vice” palettes, featuring new eyeshadow shades exclusive to that palette, as well as some from past palettes or fan favorites in general.

Pros: Wide variety of colors, plus satin and matte finishes.

Cons: Wish there was a matte black in the palette, and sometimes the matte navy blue doesn’t show up as true as it looks in the pan. Other than that, I do enjoy this palette a lot!

Standout shades: Bondage, Lucky, Sonic, Alchemy, Alien & Freeze.

 

 

URBAN DECAY NAKED 1 & 2

 

What they are: Urban Decay’s first two eyeshadow palettes released under the “Naked” brand. 1 features more goldens, while 2 is a cooler toned palette.

Pros (for both): Wonderful shimmers and blendable mattes. Great color range too!

Cons (for both): I kind of wish (sometimes anyhow) that the 1 came with a matte black shade. And I also wish that the 2 didn’t just repeat the ‘Half Baked’ shadow from the first.

I honestly need to use these a little more. I’ve been so into my Too Faced palette with their metallics that I forgot about Urban Decay’s pretty golden tones and sparkly cool ones.

Standout Shades (in both): Half Baked, Sidecar, Smog, Darkhorse, Creep, Blackout, YDK, Verve and Tease.

 

 

URBAN DECAY SMOKY PALETTE

718CG28gmtL._SX355_.jpg

What it is: a smokier version of the Naked 2 (mostly) palette, with a couple darker golden tones similar to the Naked 1 ones.

Pros: I love how the grey tones pass a little blue-ish at times, especially the darkest shade (black market). And don’t even get me started on how stellar the mattes are in this palette. So good.

Cons: Again, I wish there was a true matte black in the palette. That’s what I originally thought ‘Black Market’ was. I also wish ‘Combust’ would come off more peachy like it is in the pan…sometimes it turns a little greyish on my eyes when I use it as a transition shade.

Standout shades: High, Armor, Smolder, Password, Whiskey and Thirteen.

 

 

URBAN DECAY NAKED BASICS (1)

604214396906_nakedbasics_alt2

What it is: A perfectly sized matte palette, ranging from light to dark mattes for all blending and shadow needs.

Pros: The size is the coolest thing ever — perfect for travelling and other on-the-go needs.

Cons: Since I already have Foxy in the Naked 2, I kinda wish they did like a peachy matte or a pinky-toned matte. But, the Naked Basics 2 has that covered.

Standout shades: WOS (Walk of Shame) and Naked 2.

 

 

MAYBELLINE THE NUDES 

download.jpg

What it is: A drugstore dupe for the Naked 1 palette from UD.

Pros: The shimmers are true to their color and the matte black is great for a drugstore palette.

Cons: There’s some fallout in the shadows (not on the eyes, but like the palette itself can get kinda messy). Plus the little brush in there is not ideal for application.

Standout shades: the matte black, the two shimmer taupe-y shades, the coppery bronze and the light gold (there aren’t shade names like the high end palettes have…but when you see it, you’ll know what I mean).

*All images are not my own. Credits to original owner(s). 


Honestly, I love all these palettes. I don’t know if I could pick a favorite. They really are wonderful, and the cons aren’t even that big of a deal, just my personal preference (gotta have that matte black shade, people!) — and so don’t think I’m bashing the palettes or hate them, because obviously I do not. I love these palettes and the brands that make them. I just figured there’s no pros without a little bit of a con, right…it’s all about balancing it out. Anyway, hope you enjoyed this mini review from me. Happy Friday! -K.

 

Leave a comment